Lest Any Man Be Fooled

These are excerpts from the actual interview of and letter of resignation written by Susan Sluyter.

By Susan Sluyter

When I first began teaching more than 25 years ago, hands-on exploration, investigation, joy and love of learning characterized the early childhood classroom. I’d describe our current period as a time of testing, data collection, competition and punishment. One would be hard put these days to find joy present in classrooms.

Who is making a lot of money from all these product sale?

I was more in the role of data collector.

I have needed to schedule and attend more and more meetings about increasingly extreme behaviors and emotional needs of children in my classroom; I recognize many of these behaviors as children shouting out to the adults in their world, “I can’t do this! Look at me! Know me! Help me! See me!”

I began to feel a deep sense of loss of integrity. I felt my spirit, my passion as a teacher, slip away. I felt anger rise inside me. I felt I needed to survive by looking elsewhere and leaving the community I love so dearly. I did not feel I was leaving my job. I felt then and feel now that my job left me.”

There is a communique circulating that includes some of Ms. Sluyter’s comments. However the second to the last sentence, “When teachers like Sluyter decide that they’ve had enough, it “proves” that our schools and teachers are failing our kids and that we need vouchers, charter schools, and corporate takeover of our schools.” was not written or expressed by Ms. Sluyter and was not part of the article.

It is this type of subtle propaganda that the “hedgehogs” use to capture the minds and votes of the American people. This is why reading and comprehension are all but eliminated from the public school curriculum.

It is easy to control an uneducated populous.

We must provide every child in America with a developmentally appropriate, Arts based, experiential education concentrated on discovering, developing, and directing their gifts and talents.

Join the Movement to Save Our Children!

Leave a Reply

